Texas Marijuana Registry Cards

A Texas Medical Marijuana Card, or medcard, is a state issued ID card that provides access to the states Low THC High CBD medical marijuana program. The state of Texas doesn’t actually issue a card. What the certified TX marijuana doctor gives is an actually prescription to patients for medical grade legal cannabis products.

To get your TX medical card, you must have a listed qualifying medical condition. Once you’ve been certified, which can now be done face to face online using telemedicine, your physician will enter you into the system. Then you will be able to buy High CBD Low THC cannabis medicine from open dispensaries or by home delivery. See if you qualify today!

Texas Med Marijuana Certifications

Sign Up for Medical Cannabis in TX

For potential medical marijuana patients we make it easy to connect with a recommending doctor online. You will also receive updates & news relative to medical marijuana in Texas. If you are interested, simply fill out the MMJ patient registration form to get started. Legal Residents Only.

100 percent secure form

MMJ Patient Registration Form

100 percent secure
FAQ Texas Marijuana

Texas Medical Marijuana FAQ

Below are some frequently asked questions about the evolving medical marijuana program in TX.

When will additional qualifying conditions for Texas marijuana be added to this program?

How does a patient qualify for a medical marijuana card in Texas?

  • A patient may be prescribed low-THC cannabis if:
    1. A patient is a permanent resident of Texas,
    2. A patient is diagnosed with a qualifying condition,
    3. The qualified physician determines the risk of the medical use of low-THC cannabis by a patient is reasonable considering the potential benefit for the patient, and
    4. A second qualified physician has concurred with the determination.

Will MMJ patients have to register with the state or pay a fee?

  • No. Statute does not require patients to register or pay a fee. Patient information will be retained in the Compassionate Use Registry. A qualified physician will enter a patient’s name, date of birth, low-THC dosage prescribed and means of administration into the Compassionate Use Registry.

Can patients under the age of 18 be eligible?

  • Yes. Statute places no limitations on the age of the patient.

Can patients grow their own marijuana plants?

  • No, growing med marijuana at home is not allowed. Only licensed dispensers will be able grow cannabis and only for use in the production of low-THC cannabis. Patients are required to purchase low-THC cannabis products from a licensed dispensing organization.

How much does medical cannabis cost in Texas?

  • Prices will be set by the licensed dispensing organizations, based on the market. DPS does not regulate the cost of the product.

Will patients’ legal guardians be able to pick up the order from a dispensing organization?

  • Yes. The names and addresses of legal guardians will be documented by doctors in the Compassionate Use Registry. Patients or legal guardians will be required to show proof of identification to the dispensing organization.

Will it be legal for patients to smoke low-THC cannabis?

  • No. Smoking is prohibited under the current law.

What protections will patients and legal guardians have from criminal prosecution?

  • Texas Health and Safety Code §481.111(e)(1) provides exemptions from state laws prohibiting possession of marijuana for patients (and their legal guardians) for whom low-THC cannabis is prescribed under a valid prescription from a dispensing organization.

Patient Requirements of the Compassionate Use Registry Of Texas (CURT)

Do Patients need to register in CURT?

  • Patients do not need to register in CURT, nor will they need access to CURT. The physician will add the patient into CURT.
How does a patient get their prescription?
  • The physician will enter the prescription in the CURT system. Patient or legal guardian will then have the ability to go to any of the dispensaries to have the prescription filled. Patient or legal guardian will need to provide identification and patient’s last name, date of birth, and last 5 of social security number.
How Long Is a Texas Marijuana Card Good? Once I have my prescription, where can I buy marijuana?
  • The dispensing organizations’ employees will be delivering prescriptions, as well as potentially filling prescriptions over the counter.
How many dispensing organizations will be licensed in Texas? Where will I be able to find a licensed dispensing organization? When will this program be operational?
  • The program is operational now with home delivery available.
Are there restrictions on dispensary proximity to schools, churches?
  • All regulated premises shall be located at least 1000 feet from any private or public school or day care center that existed prior to the date of initial license application, measured from the closest points on the respective property lines.

Are there counties that will not allow a dispensary?
  • COUNTIES AND MUNICIPALITIES MAY NOT PROHIBIT LOW-THC CANNABIS.
How will law enforcement personnel be able to verify that a patient or doctor is registered?
  • Law enforcement will be able to access the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas.
Are infused edibles allowed in Texas?
  • Limited forms of edibles are allowed.
Once I have my prescription, can I grow my own marijuana?
  • No. Only licensed dispensers will be able grow cannabis and only for use in the production of low-THC cannabis. Patients are required to purchase low-THC cannabis products from a licensed dispensing organization.
Can I take My Meds to a Different State?
  • No. Medical marijuana patients may face federal and local charges of transporting marijuana if they cross state lines with the drug. This is true even if the states between which they are traveling allow medical marijuana. Should you need to travel with your marijuana it would be best to contact the state’s Bureau of health to understand the exact laws of the state you are traveling to in order to not risk breaking the law.
Can I have a prescription from another state filled in Texas?
  • No, SB 339 only authorizes the possession of low-THC cannabis that is obtained through a prescription issued by a physician registered with the CUP program.
How Much Should I consume?
  • We are not doctors or physicians, and therefore you should always consult with a licensed Texas physician before using.
Scroll to Top