TX Marijuana Dispensaries & MMJ Delivery
Dispensaries in Texas are actively producing and selling medical grade cannabis based high CBD products. The licensed TX dispensary brands include Texas Original Compassionate Cultivation, Good Blend, and Fluent Cannabis Care. There are only a few open cannabis stores in Texas currently with more coming as the Texas MMJ Program evolves.
Dispensaries Near Me
Texas Dispensaries Product Menus
What CBD and THC products will be available at dispensaries in Texas?
Open cannabis dispensaries in Texas can carry a selection of cannabis based CBD dispensary menu products to help qualified patients, available by deliveries RX as well. The allowable forms of marijuana products are edibles, inhalers, oils, topical treatments or gel caps.
Edibles in Texas are sure to be patient favorites as they are a great alternative to smoking or vaping. Access to medical marijuana products in Texas will increase as the laws continue to evolve. Strains, including Indica, Sativa, High CBD and Hybrids may be available in whole flower, or bud.
TX Dispensary Directory by City
Hemp CBD Retailers in Texas
CBD stores are open in and around all cities in Texas. With the passing of the Texas Hemp Bill, Hemp Based CBD is now legal in the state. This includes the full range of products available. You can find these stores here and visit one to buy Hemp Based CBD products without THC legally in Texas.
TX Marijuana Dispensary Guide
Texas Medical Marijuana Program Overview
Type of program: Medical only
The Texas Compassionate Use Act went into effect in 2015, allowing individuals suffering from intractable epilepsy access to low-THC cannabis oil.
A few years later in 2019, the Act was expanded to include other debilitating conditions. Some of these conditions include terminal cancer, autism, seizure disorders, MS, ALS, Alzheimer’s, chronic traumatic encephalopathy, and Parkinson’s disease.
At present, under current Texas cannabis laws, the only products available to these patients are cannabis-oil, lozenges, lotions, tinctures, and inhalers, each containing 0.5 percent THC or less and a minimum of 10 percent CBD.
Five years after the program was implemented patients still experience barriers and red tape when applying for a Compassionate Use license. Industry experts and medical marijuana advocates claim that the current program is largely inaccessible to the ailing demographic it was initially designed to serve.
Until recently fewer than 20 doctors across the state were officially registered with the Texas Department of Public Safety to legally prescribe medical marijuana. Moreover, at the start of 2021 there were only 3,500 Texans registered in the medical marijuana program when, in fact, more than two million people are legally eligible.
The fledgling medical marijuana program in Texas still has many hurdles to jump. Texas is among the most prohibitive of all states – near the bottom of the list as far as accessibility goes, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures.
Patients should keep in mind that the difference between Texas medical marijuana and hemp is a mere 0.2 percent THC at most. Hemp-derived CBD products can be purchase without a medical marijuana card.
Marijuana Dispensaries In Texas
Marijuana Deliveries RX: Available
Home delivery is permitted for medical marijuana patients in Texas. Order by phone or online.
Texas medical marijuana dispensary licensing
Texas medical marijuana dispensary licensing is administered by the Texas Department of Public Safety, including issuance, suspensions, renewals, and revocations. There are currently only three licensed dispensaries in Texas.
Texas is a vertically integrated medical marijuana state. The Texas license for a “Dispensing Organization” cover cultivation, processing, and dispensing.
Purchase and possession limits
At this time there is no clear information on the limits of legal amounts of medical marijuana products that can be purchased by a Texas medical marijuana patient.
However, any amount of smokable marijuana flower is still prohibited statewide. Possession laws are still highly punitive and even small amounts can come with a criminal record and jail time.
How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Texas
In order to be approved for a medical marijuana card in Texas, a patient must be examined by a state-certified medical marijuana doctor.
Once certified, the patient must log on to the Compassionate Use Registry database to complete registration.
Renew a Texas medical marijuana card
Residents of all ages are eligible for medical marijuana use in Texas.
Anyone under 18 years of age must receive two separate opinions from two different state-certified medical marijuana doctors and must assign a parent or legal guardian assigned as a caregiver.
A patient’s prescribed medical cannabis can be dispensed to the patient’s legal representative.
Texas Marijuana Laws
Marijuana-related DUI laws in Texas
There are no facilities or clubs allowing the smoking or consumption of marijuana products in the state of Texas.
At present there is no language available in the Compassionate Use Act to describe the act of smoking marijuana while driving, however, the situation would most likely fall under Texas Penal Code Ann. § 49.04 (Vernon 2009) rules and penalties.
It is recommended that you NOT consume medical marijuana products before or while driving a vehicle, as the punishments are steep for such violations.
Transporting cannabis in Texas
When transporting medical marijuana products, registrants must always carry their medical marijuana ID. This includes the transporting of the product to and from a dispensary. When transporting the product in a car, it must always be in a child-proof container, out of arm’s reach by the driver.
Public consumption laws in Texas
Consumption of legal medical marijuana products should be confined to the home of qualified patients.
Any and all smoking of marijuana anywhere is prohibited across the board in the state of Texas and if you’re caught it could result in a criminal record and jail time.
Social consumption: prohibited
Home cultivation: prohibited
At this time in the state of Texas, all cultivation of marijuana, growing your own, for medical or personal use is prohibited.
Medical marijuana and gun rights in Texas
Under the restrictions of the Gun Control Act, it is illegal for a person “who is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance” to possess, receive, or transport firearms or ammunition.
Pending Changes to Texas Marijuana Laws
2021 could see some dramatic changes to Texas medical marijuana laws and many individuals supporting legalization are feeling optimistic.
Marijuana Moment recently interviewed Heather Fazio, an advocate for medical marijuana legalization. Ms. Fazio stated via email that her organization was “pleased to see a variety of cannabis-related bills introduced so early in the pre-filing period. Democratic and Republican lawmakers are making cannabis a priority,” she said, “which is a good sign for advocates as we prepare for the upcoming legislative session.”
She went on to say “I’m not sure that this is going to be the session that it happens, but I know that this session’s definitely going to be talked about,” Fazio said. “If nothing else, it jumpstarts the conversation about repealing prohibition, so we can have a conversation about how prohibition has affected the lives of people.”
Early in 2021, with a new legislative session pending, Texas lawmakers were hoping to implement new measures into the Compassionate Use Program. The reforms to the program are to include loosening of restrictions and the expanding of eligibility.
At least seven bills have been filed by legislators with the intention of not only expanding the program’s eligibility but also eradicating the THC cap in addition to lowering business fees.
For the time being, Texas has been dubbed a medical CBD state by the advocate group NORML. Ironically, even non-intoxicating CBD is being scrutinized as the lines remain blurred in regard to the standardization of the product. CBD providers and retailers still struggle to find the proper categorization for the substance. It is still unclear as to whether it’s a medicine, food additive, or dietary supplement.
Texas hemp and CBD laws
CBD is the non-intoxicating cannabinoid found in cannabis. CBD produced from hemp plants (as opposed to marijuana) was made legal in the U.S. at the end of 2018. In June 2019, Texas Governor passed House Bill 1325 which authorized the production, manufacture, and retail sale of hemp and hemp-derived products including CBD.
Texas passed a law in the summer of 2020 clearly stating that hemp-derived CBD products are legal in the state.
Patients can buy CBD online and have it delivered to their door. Medical marijuana patients can also purchase CBD products in legal dispensaries across the state of Texas.
There is no limit to the amount of hemp CBD an individual can possess.
In spite of CBD-hemp’s legal status in Texas, it is still illegal to smoke hemp flower in public.
Texas medical marijuana information
- General Information
- Compassionate-Use Program FAQS
- State vs. Federal Law
- CBD & Industrial Hemp
- Compassionate-Use Program
- Compassionate Use Registry
- Recreational Use
- Find More Information
- Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 487
The Texas Compassionate-Use Act established requirements for the licensing and registration of dispensaries that provide low-THC cannabis to qualified patients.
- Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 169
This chapter of Texas law allows qualified physicians to prescribe low-THC cannabis to certain patients with incurable neurodegenerative diseases. In this chapter, “low-THC cannabis” is defined as a cannabis plant or derivative that contains less than .5% of tetrahydrocannabinols by weight. This differs from the definition of “hemp” in HB 1325, which is defined as cannabis plants and derivatives consisting of less than .3% tetrahydrocannabinols by weight.
- Texas Administrative Code, Title 25, Part 1, Chapter 1, Subchapter D, Rule 1.61
On December 5, 2019, new administrative rules went into effect listing the incurable neurodegenerative diseases eligible for a prescription under Texas Occupations Code Chapter 169.